What is Vanish Mode on Instagram and how does it work?
Meta-owned Facebook launched the Vanish mode on its chatting platform Messenger in 2020. Later on, it was added to Instagram’s messaging features as well.
This feature helps users to have private chats that disappear after they are read. Instagram’s Vanish mode makes sure that your private messages are not being read by others snooping on your device.
Here, we will discuss how this feature works and how it can help you.
What is Instagram’s Vanish Mode? Vanish Mode on Instagram
As per Facebook, this feature allows users to create and join temporary chat threads that are automatically deleted when the conversation is over. It is almost like the self-erasing feature that can be found on Snapchat.
Important details about Vanish Mode
Users need to note that this feature works only when users enable it manually. This feature isn’t available in group chats and can only work in chats between two people.
This feature will work only among users, who follow each other on the photo-sharing platform. The company has taken this safety precaution for users to avoid unsolicited messages from strangers.
Users have total control of their chat experience and can choose to accept using this feature with someone or can also decline their request. Users will be notified immediately if the person they are chatting with takes a screenshot of your messages in Vanish mode.
Vanish Mode will not hide messages that users send without enabling the feature. Messages will show up like every other message if you send them without turning on the Vanish Mode feature
.Why is it important for users?
Vanish Mode offers multiple advantages to Instagram users. Its priorities are user’s safety and privacy and it is perfect if you suspect someone snooping through your chats. Users can also use this feature if they want to have a private chat with another Instagram user that follows each other. You can share confidential details using the Vanish mode and there will be no chance of information being leaked
In Vanish mode, all seen or read text, pictures, memes, stickers, GIFs, and others are permanently deleted once you end the chat. However, this mode also allows users to block or report a conversation that they don’t feel safe about.
So, the answer to the question ‘Can I send messages in Vanish Mode on Instagram’ is Yes. The Vanish mode is basically an incognito mode for Instagram DM.
If you want to use Vanish Mode, ensure you have the latest version of the Instagram app installed on your smartphone and follow the steps:
How to Turn on Vanish Mode on Instagram
Step 1: Open Instagram, head to DM, and select a contact you want to chat within Vanish Mode.
Step 2: Now, swipe up from the bottom of the screen to enable the Vanish Mode.
Step 3: To turn off the Vanish Mode, swipe up again from the bottom of the screen.
- Do I receive notifications for messages sent in Vanish Mode?
Yes, Messages sent in Vanish Mode show up in the Notification panel like regular Instagram messages. You can tap on the notification to enter the same chat in vanish mode.
- Can you recover vanish mode messages?
Messages on Vanish Mode disappear once they are viewed or the chat is closed. They can’t be recovered. However, do keep in mind that one can always take a screenshot or copy/paste the messages.
- What is Vanish Mode used for?
Implemented by Facebook on Messenger and Instagram, vanish mode allows you to have an end-to-end encrypted conversation that disappears once you leave the chat.
- Do Vanish Mode work for video and audio calls on Instagram?
Unfortunately, the Vanish Mode is limited to DM messages only and there’s no such feature available for video calls or voice calls.
- Can you tell if someone takes screenshots of Instagram DM?
If someone takes screenshots of a disappearing DM (with Vanish Mode enabled), you will get a notification. For regular chats, however, Instagram does not notify you for screenshots. Also, you will not be notified for a screenshot taken of your story or post.
- Can someone see when you turn on vanish mode?
No, the other person will not come to know if you turn on the Vanish Mode on Instagram. However, if you take a screenshot of the messages in vanish mode the other person on the chat would be notified immediately.
7.Does Vanish Mode Work in Group Chats?
No, Vanish Mode only works in DMs with one other person at this time.
8.Can You See Screenshots in Vanish Mode?
Yes, if someone screenshots the chat, the other person is notified.